White Sands, New Mexico

From Fort Davis it was a 5 hour drive into New Mexico to Alamogordo, passing through El Paso.  I spent most of it banked over at a 15-20 degree angle riding into very strong, gusty winds trying to blow me off the road.  I can’t say it was the most enjoyable and scenic day’s riding I’d ever done, but at least I arrived with everything still intact.

IMG_5713

White Sands Basin, home of the dunes and White Sands Missile Range (entering New Mexico from Texas)

As most of northern New Mexico was knee-deep in snow (it’s not fun riding in the snow!), the only thing I had on my list of ‘things to do’ was visit White Sands National Monument, a 275 sq mile field of white sand dunes composed of gypsum crystals.  Of course I’m disappointed to miss lots of other sights out, but if I see everything there is to see on this trip I will be in North America for years!  I’ve concluded other sights will still be there for another time, and will give me something to look forward to in my old age.

IMG_5716

Entering White Sands National Monument, 275 sq miles of white gypsum crystals

Riding through the sand dunes was surreal, and it was easy to feel lost in a strange, new world, so I started to feel a bit like Captain Kirk.

IMG_5727

A surreal experience…

IMG_5734

White Sands National Monument

Incidentally, the sand dunes are located in a huge basin which also houses White Sands Missile Range, the largest military installation in the United States, and where the first atomic bomb was tested & detonated in 1945 at the ‘Trinity’ test site.

Categories: New Mexico | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

