Yosemite

I remember the days when I used to call Yosemite ‘Yose-Mite’ (a few days ago, ha ha), and ever since then I wondered where it was and what was there.  Well, now I know.  It’s in mid California, 200 miles east of San Francisco and it takes 6 hours to drive there from Salt Point State Park, where I was.  I had booked a cabin at a mountain lodge in Oakhurst, a small village just outside Yosemite National Park, as it was much cheaper than staying in the park itself.

IMG_6474

The ride into Yosemite National Park

The ride into the park in the morning took longer than I expected, especially because once inside the park boundary it takes another hour to get to Yosemite Valley, which is the view I had been told was not to be missed.

And they were right – when I finally exited the tunnel leading into the valley, the picture-perfect ‘Tunnel View’ appeared before me like a fairytale.  And here it is:

IMG_6479

Tunnel View – the first look you get at Yosemite Valley as you exit the tunnel – amazing!

From there I walked to Mirror Lake to get a good view of ‘Half Dome’, the famous granite monolith at the end of the valley, and then onto the 3,000 ft high shear granite rock face of El Capitan, the famous rock-climbing wall a bit further down the valley.

IMG_6521

A nice walk to Mirror Lake to get a good view of ‘Half Dome’ – the famous huge granite monolith (not mirror like today unfortunately)

IMG_6539

The 3,000 ft high shear granite rock face of El Capitan – I’ll climb it next time!

IMG_6480

Yosemite Falls – bring your umbrella!

IMG_6512

Walk to Mirror Lake

Also not to be missed is Mariposa Grove where Giant Sequoias have stood majestically for thousands of years.  In fact the largest of them called the ‘Grizzly Giant’ is up to 2,400 years old and so was around when Alexander the Great conquered the Persian Empire, and later saw the birth of Jesus – amazing!

IMG_6443

Giant Sequoias are the World’s largest trees by volume with an average height of 50–85 m (160–279 ft) and 6–8 m (20–26 ft) in diameter – they’re HUGE and AWESOME!

IMG_6450

Tunnel Tree

IMG_6497

I could have sworn the trees were starting to close in on me… Perhaps it was my new aftershave?

IMG_6446

Sequoia bark is fibrous and can be almost 1 meter (3.0 ft) thick, providing significant fire protection. In fact, forest fires are vital for their survival by creating openings in the forest, allowing young giant sequoias to establish themselves

Many of the higher trails were covered in snow and closed for the winter, including the trail to Glacier Point, so I found a couple days were enough to satisfy my curiosity as to ‘what was there’.  Job done I started my trip back south to my final stop in San Diego, and to drop my bike off at the shippers in LA ready for its long passage to Australia.

IMG_6473

Yosemite is also a thriving ski resort in the winter

Categories: California | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Yosemite

  1. Gail Gillespie

    Amazing photos, as usual!!! Breathtaking place, ain’t it!? (Did you ever make it to Mexico????!)

  2. Thanks Gail! No, I’m disappointed, but Mexico’s for the next adventure – Alaska to Tierra del Fuego!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

