Java

Riding in Java is completely mental – actually, it’s beyond completely mental; easily the worst place I’ve ridden in terms of traffic and craziness.  And my visa was running out so I only had a few days to make it across Java and Sumatra into Malaysia…

 

Only thing worse than battling through Java traffic is doing it with no clutch, as my temporary fix in East Timor was on its last legs and the clutch was slipping terribly, leaving me with no power to overtake or get myself out of trouble.  Not fun!

 

The first casualty was my right pannier which got smashed off onto the road when a cart pulled out infront of me.

 

IMG_2701

The skyline of central Java is dominated by the beautiful Mount Merapi (Fire Mountain), the most active volcano

IMG_2705

I’d thought I’d take a ride up it, which wasn’t a good idea with a clutch on its last legs; I almost burnt the rest of the plates out completely and spent the rest of the journey to Sumatra riding painfully slow and gutlessly

IMG_2719

Despite the crazy traffic in the cities and suburbs, Java is still a beautiful island, full of green paddy fields and volcanos

IMG_2721

Nice little allotment for someone

IMG_2723

Nice to get away from the crazy city traffic

IMG_2732

Even the Javan Policemen are friendly

IMG_2733

The day before my birthday, and 1 year into the trip, my gear lever decided to snap off at the case

IMG_2740

Luckily I found the Siswo Brothers who fixed it for me for free! Bandung Bondowoso Autobody Paint

IMG_2736

And they even gave me free lunch – such a great family 🙂

IMG_2742

Febri Siswo took really great care of me and the bike, and took me on a tour of the area while it was being fixed

IMG_2745

Prambanan – 9th-century Hindu temple (and illegal parking 😉 )

IMG_2752

I then set off for Borobudur – 9th-century Mahayana Buddhist Temple

IMG_2775

Borobudur

IMG_2780

Yes, I got up early to see the sunrise, for a change

IMG_2792

Borobudur is the world’s largest Buddhist temple, and one of the greatest Buddhist monuments in the world

IMG_2819

Borobudur

IMG_2854

Prambanan again

IMG_2861

Who’d ever thought you’d bump into reindeer in Java?

IMG_2865

Lunch with Febri

IMG_2887

On the short ferry to Sumatra I removed one of the clutch adjuster nuts which gave me just enough extra cable to make my clutch work again. I had a new one waiting in Malaysia, so fingers crossed…

IMG_2903

Sumatra – arriving on the ferry

 

 

 

Categories: Java | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

