Cambodia

I crossed into Cambodia using the Koh Kong border crossing late afternoon; it was quick and easy, without any of the hassle I’d heard at other crossings.  I hired a local pimp to speed up the process for me, which was well worth the 5 dollars!  After changing some money I sped off to Koh Kong town for beer/local SIM/sleep.

IMG_0180

Koh Kong border crossing – quick and easy with my local 5USD pimp

IMG_0208

Koh Kong to the beautiful beaches at Sihanoukville

IMG_0233

VIP bike parking at my beach shack/bar, Sihanoukville

IMG_0291

Arriving in Phnom Penh via Kampot. Pretty crazy city with mental traffic. I would have got completely lost had it not been for Google Maps and my local SIM card

IMG_0310

Heading north to Siem Reap (this was a short cut, I hoped!)

IMG_0312

Siem Reap countryside

IMG_0320

I stopped for lunch along the way; I really fancied a fried tarantula…

IMG_0323

Yum Yum!

IMG_0374

The first Buddhist temple of thousands at Siem Reap, and a friendly copper

IMG_0388

Sitting on the temples of Angkor, built by the Khmer civilization between 802 and 1220 AD

IMG_0526

Angkor Wat and my elderly guide (who never asked for money!) (but I gave him some anyway) (and an ice cream)

IMG_0543

Angkor Wat

IMG_0603

Angkor Wat is a huge ancient complex of hundreds of temples; I thought I could see it in 1 day, and ended up staying for 3

IMG_0632

If you took the time to venture off the main tourist path, there were plenty more ruins you could explore in solitude

IMG_0660

Tomb Raider

IMG_0667

I headed up to another ancient city, Kep, and made my way to the Laos border

IMG_0688

There were far fewer tourists at Kep, and the ruins were just as impressive

IMG_0692

Kep

IMG_0694

More ruins. After 3 days I was all ruin’d out…

IMG_20131208_055805

All that temple exploring made me thirsty. Luckily there were bars nearby in Siem Reap. Lots, in fact.

 

I made my way up to Kep and northeast to the Laos border via a new road passing through Tbang Mean Chey, which made the journey much shorter than it used to be.

 

Categories: Cambodia | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

