End of my World Tour!

A quick update:

END OF WORLD TOUR!!!

OK, so I’m a bit behind on my blog (as usual), but I thought you’d all like to know my ‘Round The World’ Motorbike Ride is officially finally over…

Since my last post, I rode up though Montenegro, Bosnia, Croatia, Slovenia, Austria, Italy, San Marino and France.

I have mixed feelings on this ending, as I suppose most travellers do.  On the one hand, it’s great to see friends and family again, and great also to have completed such an amazing journey, but on the other I miss it! :).  But I really do realise how lucky I was to have been able to do so.

So, I arrived back in (not so sunny) England on Monday 24th November after 2 years and 2 months away (not counting a couple of quick returns for 2 of my brother’s weddings).

It was cut a little short (sorry Spain!) by a lucky job offer I received at late notice starting this Friday 28th Nov 2014, but it’s in Malaysia, so at least I can escape the British winter!

I stopped by WaterAid UK London office on the way home and met Senior Fundraising Officer Emma Blake (pictured sitting on the bike) and the team.

IMG_7255

WaterAid UK Offices – Senior Fundraising Officer Emma Blake practices her Round The World riding technique

 

So far my kind sponsors have donated £8,430 for this great cause, but I’m still hoping to meet my £10,000 target….  Many, many thanks to all those who’ve helped and supported me during my trip (too many to mention, but you all know who you are!), and if you haven’t sponsored me yet but would like to, it isn’t too late!

 

http://my.wateraidfundraising.org.uk/personalPage.aspx?SID=379433&LangPref=en-CA

 

I still intend to catch up with the blog soon (for anyone who may be missing it..) and the book will be out by Xmas…. 2045 at this rate!

 

Thanks for reading, safe travels and have fun! 🙂

 

???????????????????????????????

Route of The Tiger 🙂

 

Categories: UK | Tags: , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “End of my World Tour!

  1. Wow. I’ve been following you for so long and can’t believe you have finished. We are now on our journey and are off to Belawan to organize the onion Boat. Would love to meet up if you are interested. You inspired me for so long.

    • Hey Roosters! I like to think of it as only a temporary ‘stop’, until I get going again! After all, life is one big journey 😉 Of course, would be great to meet up. I’m working in Kuala Lumpur, if you pass through. Malaysia is great for biking – great roads, free tolls, cheap food & accomm and friendly (English-speaking) locals. Keep watching out for those Indonesian buses! 🙂

  2. Oh no. Only just found this reply. For so reason I wasnt notified of your reply.
    We didnt end up going to KL but might have if we could have met.
    Currently laid up in Pai with a broken foot and planning the next stage of our route.

  3. Oh no! How? I hope it heals quickly! At least you’re in a great place 🙂

    • oh just a stupid error dropped my bike on a roadworks site.Pinned my foot under the pannier racks.
      Just wondering if youd mind giving us some info onwhere andhow you organised your visas from Thailand onwards. ie the Russian and Mongolian ones particularly. Everywhere I look there are issues!If you prefer you can email us on roostersoverlang@gmail.com
      Thanks heaps

  4. Ouch! I did exactly the same in Mongolia, but luckily didn’t break anything. I hope it heals quickly. Just sent you an email 🙂

  5. amazing my friend i wish you can come again to Lombok Island -happy to read your website – thanks for sharing – best wishes. https://www.facebook.com/lombokkami

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

